QingDao 青岛 (Shandong Provence)

I was in QingDao from July 14-17. I didn’t like this city as much as I liked QingZhou. It was a cool city, but it felt too touristy. This city has an interesting history. It was colonized by the Germans and occupied by the Japanese (but not at the same time, because that would have been a mess).

The first day, I arrived in the afternoon, so I just walked around the area I was staying at. There wasn’t much to do or see.

On day two,I spent the day biking around the city, mostly along the Qingdao Seaside Sightseeing Path, and I posted pictures on Instagram. Some of the site I saw include: May 4th Square and the Qingdao International Sailing Centre.

The third day, I did nothing worth mentioning. I spent it downtown, ate some squid, since seafood is the specialty of the city (and Shandong Provence), and posted more pictures on Instagram.

I spend my last day walking around the university campus since it was across the street form my hotel. I left for the airport that afternoon to head down to HaiKou, to visit my friend Duette.

I checked in three hours early, since I had nothing better to do. I completely forgot I had a Swiss army knife on my key-chain ring. Because I had already checked my luggage, I had to get rid of it (RIP Swiss Army knife, I shall miss you. *tear tear*). Because my head was up in the clouds, I didn’t look at the boarding time on my ticket, only the gate, so I almost boarded the wrong airplane. Good thing I read sign at the gate. Eventually, my boarding time arrives (I doubled check the time and gate number), and my flight is delayed. We were told it was because of air traffic congestion, whatever that means. Because this flight was delayed, these two 10 year-old girls started to talk and play with me. They sang Old MacDonald Had A Farm. It was cute. Eventually they call my flight, and I need to change gates. Because this flight was delayed, so was my connecting flight. I arrived in HaiKou at 1a.m. an hour later than I was supposed to. Duette came to pick me up, and off we went to DuJiaCun, the village where (at the time of this posting) I’ve been staying in for about two weeks now.

DSC00239

You can view pictures on Flickr, and scroll through the Instagram posts here.

.
.
.

More posts to come…when I get internet connection again.

About sepidehb

World traveler; World citizen; amateur photographer; English Instructor; International student; 20-something year old female American living in northeastern China. 你好吗?
This entry was posted in China and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment